The translation is temporarily closed for contributions due to maintenance, please come back later.
English French
Additionally, you can select `Encrypt my data`pass:attributes[{blank}]; this will encrypt all partitions except the ones needed to boot the system (such as `/boot`) using _Linux Unified Key Setup_ (LUKS). Encrypting your hard drive is recommended. For detailed information about LUKS encryption, see the [citetitle]_{PRODUCT} Security{nbsp}Guide_, available at link:++https://docs.fedoraproject.org/++[].
After you free enough space for your {PRODUCT} installation, press `Reclaim space` to finish.
After you select all disks you want to install {PRODUCT}, select one of the two options in the `Other Storage Options` section:
After you select storage devices, choose between automatic and manual partitioning, configure encryption and boot loader location, press `Done` in the top left corner of the screen. Then, depending on your settings, the following will happen:
All storage devices which will be used to install {PRODUCT} have a black circle icon with a white check mark on them. Disks not marked by this icon will not be used during the installation - they will be ignored if you choose automatic partitioning, and they will not be available in manual partitioning.
anaconda/StorageSpoke.png
anaconda/StorageSpoke_Selected.png
`Automatically configure partitioning` - If this option is selected, then after you press `Done` in the top left corner of the screen, the installer will determine the total amount of space on all selected disks, and it will create a _Logical Volume Management_ (LVM) layout suitable for your system. The specifics of this layout depend on whether your system uses BIOS or UEFI firmware, the total amount of free space on your disks, and the amount of RAM on your system (which determines the size of your swap space).
Disk selection in the Installation Destination screen. Two disks are displayed; only the one on the right side will be used
First, review the displayed list of available storage devices. The `Reclaimable Space` column shows how much space can be reclaimed from each entry. To reclaim space, select a disk or partition, and press either the `Delete` button to delete that partition (or all partitions on a selected disk), or `Shrink` to use free space on a partition while preserving existing data. Alternatively, you can press `Delete all` in the bottom right corner; this will delete all existing partitions on all disks and make this space available to {PRODUCT}, but all existing data on all disks will be lost.
For information about the theory and concepts behind disk partitioning in Linux, see xref:Installing_Using_Anaconda.adoc#sect-installation-gui-manual-partitioning-recommended[Recommended Partitioning Scheme].
If you chose to encrypt your hard drive, the `Disk Encryption Passphrase` dialog will appear. Enter your chosen passphrase into the `Passphrase` and `Confirm` fields. When you do so, the passphrase will be automatically evaluated and its strength will be displayed, along with suggestions on how to make it stronger if the installer has determined it to be weak. For information about creating strong passwords, see [citetitle]_{PRODUCT} Security{nbsp}Guide_.
If you lose the LUKS passphrase, any encrypted partitions and the data on them will become completely inaccessible. There is no way to recover a lost passphrase. However, if you perform a Kickstart installation, you can save encryption passphrases and create backup encryption passphrases during the installation. See xref:advanced/Kickstart_Installations.adoc#chap-kickstart-installations[Automating the Installation with Kickstart] for information about Kickstart installations.
If you need to configure additional local storage devices, select `I will configure partitioning` and press `Done` to move to xref:Installing_Using_Anaconda.adoc#sect-installation-gui-manual-partitioning[Manual Partitioning]. Then, connect any new hard drives you want to make available during the installation, and press the button marked by a circular arrow in the set of controls below the list of mount points on the left side of the screen. In the dialog window that opens, press `Rescan Disks` and wait until the scanning process completes. Then, press `OK` to return to xref:install/Installing_Using_Anaconda.adoc#sect-installation-gui-storage-partitioning[Installation Destination]; all detected disks including any new ones will be displayed in the `Local Standard Disks` section.
If you plan to use a disk which already contains some data - for example, if you want to shrink an existing Microsoft Windows partition and install {PRODUCT} as a second system or if you are upgrading a previous release of {PRODUCT}, make sure to back up any important data first. Manipulating partitions always carries a risk - if the process is interrupted or fails for any reason (installer error, hardware failure, power outage, etc.), any data already on the disk may become impossible to recover.
If you selected automatic partitioning and the `I would like to make additional space available`, or if there is not enough free space on your selected hard drives to install {PRODUCT}, the `Reclaim Space` dialog will appear. This dialog lists all disk devices you have configured and all partitions on those devices. The bottom right corner of the dialog displays information about how much space the system needs for at least a minimal installation and how much space you have reclaimed.
If you selected the `I will configure partitioning` option, pressing `Done` will open the `Manual Partitioning` screen. See xref:Installing_Using_Anaconda.adoc#sect-installation-gui-manual-partitioning[Manual Partitioning] for further instructions.
If you use the `Reclaim Space` dialog to *delete* a partition, all data on that partition will be lost. If you want to preserve your data, use the `Shrink` option, not the `Delete` option.
Installation Destination
In the top part of the screen, all locally available storage devices (SATA, IDE and SCSI hard drives, USB flash drives, etc.) are displayed in the `Local Standard Disks` section. Local disks are detected when the installer starts - any storage devices connected after the installation has started will not be shown.