English
$ ostree remote refs fedora
$ rpm-ostree rebase fedora:fedora/33/x86_64/silverblue
$ rpm-ostree upgrade
$ rpm-ostree upgrade --check
After rolling back, you will technically be on an old OS version, and may be prompted to update. Updating will undo the rollback, so should be avoided if you want the rollback to stay in effect.
After you verify the name of your branch, you are ready to proceed. For example, to upgrade to Silverblue 33, the command is:
Currently, the default remote for Silverblue 33 is named `fedora`. If this is not the case for your system, you can find out the remote name by issuing: `ostree remote list`.
First, verify the branch is available. You can print all available branches with this command:
If you'd prefer, it is also possible to update using the command line. To do this, run:
Installing updates with Silverblue is easy and fast (much faster than other operating systems). It also has a special rollback feature, in case anything goes wrong.
Once an update is ready, it is just a matter of rebooting to start using the new version. There is no waiting for the update to be installed during this reboot.
OS updates in Silverblue are fully integrated into the desktop; you will be automatically notified when an update is available. The standard behavior is to automatically download the update (this can be changed from the update preferences in Software).
Permanent rollbacks: to permanently switch back to the previous deployment, use the `rpm-ostree rollback` command.
Rolling back
Silverblue keeps a record of the previous OS version, which can be switched to instead of the latest version. While this shouldn't usually be necessary, it can be helpful if there is a problem with an update or an upgrade (rollbacks work the same way for both), as well as for development purposes.
Temporary rollbacks: to temporarily roll back to a previous version, simply reboot and select the previous version from the boot menu (often known as the grub menu).
The process is very similar to a system update: the new OS is downloaded and installed in the background, and you just boot into it when it is ready.
There are two ways to roll back to the previous version:
This will check for new updates and download and install them if they are available. Alternatively, to check for available updates without downloading them, run:
Updates, Upgrades & Rollbacks